Research Funding Team

We work with researchers, and the local professional services colleagues who support them, at all stages of research grant proposal preparation.

We are connected across the University which enables us to provide advice to researchers in all disciplines and to support interdisciplinary research projects.

We:

  • Share information and give advice on funding sources.
  • Liaise with our key research funders and coordinate strategic interactions.​
  • Contribute to learning events on research funding.​
  • Provide budget development for research proposals, including liaison with other institutions for collaborative proposals.​
  • Help draft and proof-read non-technical aspects of proposals.​
  • Provide layman’s critique for technical aspects of research proposals.​
  • Check scheme compliance and provide advice on eligibility criteria.​
  • Arrange mock interviews.​
  • Help draft and secure signatures on letters of support from the Vice-Principal Research and Enterprise.​
  • Process certain contracts, e.g. funder and collaboration agreements.​
  • Conduct due diligence on overseas partners.​
  • Submit research proposals on behalf of the University.
  • Accept research funding awards on behalf of the University.
  • Provide research Project Management services.​

Who do I contact?

Research Funding Specialists are the first point of contact in Edinburgh Research Office for researchers and professional services colleagues in local Research Offices.

Find my Research Funding Specialist

Name Role Email
Anna Anderson Clinical Research Funding Coordinator anna.anderson@ed.ac.uk
Dr. Martina Astolfi Research Funding Specialist mastolfi@ed.ac.uk
Mary Bailes Research Funding Specialist Mary.Bailes@ed.ac.uk
Dr Barbara Bartocci Research Funding Specialist Barbara.Bartocci@ed.ac.uk
Dr Laura Bonsall Research Funding Specialist laura.bonsall@ed.ac.uk
Sasha Carcassonne Research Funding Specialist scarcass@ed.ac.uk
Hannah Chater Kirk Senior Research Funding Specialist Hannah.Chater@ed.ac.uk
Helen Cross Research Funding Specialist helen.cross@ed.ac.uk
Dr Boleslaw Czarnecki Interim Portfolio & Proposal Development Lead (EU & International) boleslaw.czarnecki@ed.ac.uk
Dr Natasha Dorling Senior Research Funding Specialist (EU & International) Natasha.Dorling@ed.ac.uk
Nicholas Duvall Research Funding Manager Nicholas.Duvall@ed.ac.uk
Emma Giles Senior Research Funding Specialist emma.giles@ed.ac.uk
David Hay Clinical Research Funding Specialist dhay33@ed.ac.uk
Dr Jennifer Hazelton Head of Research Funding jennifer.hazelton@ed.ac.uk
Amelia Judge Research Funding Specialist Amelia.Judge@ed.ac.uk
Daria Kitaeva Research Funding Specialist Daria.Kitaeva@ed.ac.uk
Ina Lindsay Research Bid Development Manager Ina.Lindsay@ed.ac.uk
Dr Theoni Massara Research Project Manager theoni.massara@ed.ac.uk
Georgios Matrakas Research Funding Specialist george.matrakas@ed.ac.uk
Dr Jochen F. Mayer Research Funding Specialist Jochen.Mayer@ed.ac.uk
Megan McGrath Clinical Research Funding Specialist mmcgrat3@ed.ac.uk
Dawne Milligan Clinical Research Funding Specialist dawne.milligan@ed.ac.uk
Dr Angus Moodycliffe UK Research Funding Manager Angus.Moodycliffe@ed.ac.uk
Gillian-F. Mutanga Research Funding Specialist Gillian.Mutanga@ed.ac.uk
Annie Lovett Research Bid Development Executive Annie.Lovett@ed.ac.uk
Dr Alia Rodrigues Research Funding Specialist alia.rodrigues@ed.ac.uk
Dr Juliane Schroeder Research Funding Specialist Juliane.Schroeder@ed.ac.uk
Dr Elisabetta Spano Research Bid Development Executive (International) elisabetta.spano@ed.ac.uk
Angela Sturniolo Research Support Officer angela.sturniolo@ed.ac.uk
Melina Tsiknaki Research Funding Specialist Melina.Tsiknaki@ed.ac.uk
Charis Wilson Senior Research Funding Specialist charis.wilson@ed.ac.uk